All classes are 100% mobile-friendly! If you're a new user, create a new account or read our New User Guide.  Get help logging in.  You can even translate any class to your language of choice instantly. 

Be sure to check out our NEW CLASSES!

Let's talk about kids!

Author   Comment   Page 2 of 2      Prev   1   2
quinnedwards

Reply with quote  #16 
3.1 When I worked as a camp counselor children would miss their parents and act out. They would also feel disconnected if they felt sick or had a minor injury like a bee sting. Furthermore, if children where hungry or disinterested in the structured activity they would feel disconnected. 

3.2 Infants will typically cry to signal that they need help. Toddlers may throw a tandrum. It's more appropriate to expect older children will verbalize their needs, while younger kids to not have that ability. 

3.3 The "listen limit listen" model provides instruction in how care providers can initately ask a child what is wrong, limit harmful behavior, and listen to the child again after they have calmed down and want to talk. I think the hardest component of these steps would be remaining calm and patient while the child is most emotionally-elevated

3.4 I have always had the help i needed when dealing with a difficult tandrum. When my little sister would have tantrums in my care we would take breaks from each other so we could cool down. In the context of a preschool, I would just ask for help if I started to feel overwhelmed. 
mabowen

Reply with quote  #17 
A child may feel lonely and be missing mom/dad. They also might feel tired or ill which will cause them to feel disconnected.
Children will cry or yell. Sometimes they will even use the word help.
It can be hard to listen on the last step because our natural instinct is to stop kids from crying.